Skip To Main Content

header-container

header-top-container

logo-container

logo-image

logo-title

right-top-container

district-home-nav

google-translate-holder

translate-container

search-container

search-popup

district-nav

header-bottom-container

cta-nav

Horizontal Nav

Breadcrumb

2026 Preliminary School Performance Overview

How Are Our Schools Performing?

Each year, Colorado looks at student learning and progress to assess how schools are performing. These results give each school an overall rating, but there is more to the story than one rating.

 

Explore each school below to see its results, understand what the numbers mean, and see where students are making progress and where there is room to grow.

How Does Colorado Measure Our Schools?

Colorado uses the School Performance Framework (SPF) to evaluate schools. Ratings are based on several key factors:

Academic Achievement

Where are students now?

How students are performing academically, primarily using the Colorado Measures of Academic Success (CMAS) in elementary and middle school and the Preliminary SAT (PSAT) and SAT in high school.

Academic Growth

How much progress are students making?

How much progress students make compared with Colorado students who had similar scores in the past.

High schools only

Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)

Are students prepared for life after high school?

This component includes SAT performance, graduation, dropout, and what students do after high school.

What Do the Rating Colors Mean?
Green: PerformanceThe school meets state expectations overall.
Yellow: ImprovementThe school needs improvement to meet state expectations overall.
Red: Priority Improvement or TurnaroundThe school is well below state expectations and needs significant improvement.
Gray: Rating not availableThe state could not assign a rating, often because the school is new or has too little reportable data.
How Much Does Each Area Count?

Elementary & Middle Schools

40% Academic Achievement60% Academic Growth

High Schools

30% Academic Achievement40% Academic Growth30% Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness

Find a school

Select a school to view its overall SPF trend, current strengths, opportunities for growth and top-line SPF components.

District Results

Montrose County School District RE-1J

Select to view district details
Accredited with Improvement Plan2025–26 district rating · 53.3 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%50%48%52%51%53%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 DPF Components

District Performance Framework (DPF): 30 points for Academic Achievement + 40 points for Academic Growth + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 13.3 out of 3044.4% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 23.9 out of 4059.8% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 16.1 out of 3053.8% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Elementary schools

Cottonwood Elementary School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 80.3 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%71%71%71%74%80%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 27.8 out of 4069.5% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 52.5 out of 6087.5% of component points earnedExceeds State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Johnson Elementary School

Select to view school details
Improvement2025–26 rating · 43.8 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%47%48%44%34%44%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 12.2 out of 4030.6% of component points earnedDoes Not Meet State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 31.6 out of 6052.7% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Northside Elementary School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 53.0 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%49%33%53%48%53%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 18.0 out of 4044.9% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 35.0 out of 6058.3% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Oak Grove Elementary School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 72.5 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%48%57%65%54%73%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 23.5 out of 4058.8% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 49.0 out of 6081.7% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Olathe Elementary School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 59.0 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%46%49%45%61%59%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 18.0 out of 4044.9% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 41.0 out of 6068.3% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Pomona Elementary School

Select to view school details
Improvement2025–26 rating · 48.2 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%39%48%48%48%48%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 18.2 out of 4045.6% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 30.0 out of 6050.0% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Secondary schools

Centennial Middle School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 57.7 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%54%48%58%55%58%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 19.7 out of 4049.3% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 38.0 out of 6063.4% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Columbine Middle School

Select to view school details
Improvement2025–26 rating · 49.5 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%55%61%57%50%50%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 20.0 out of 4050.0% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 29.5 out of 6049.1% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Montrose High School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 62.8 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%52%52%64%61%63%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

High school SPF: 30 points for Academic Achievement + 40 points for Academic Growth + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 17.1 out of 3056.9% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 24.3 out of 4060.7% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 21.4 out of 3071.2% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Olathe Middle/High School

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 56.8 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%55%48%57%57%57%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

High school SPF: 30 points for Academic Achievement + 40 points for Academic Growth + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 13.1 out of 3043.6% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 20.2 out of 4050.5% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 23.5 out of 3078.3% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Alternative and specialized schools

Black Canyon High School

Select to view school details
AEC: Improvement2025–26 rating · 51.6 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%25%33%33%52%Dot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

Alternative Education Campus SPF: 15 points for Academic Achievement + 35 points for Academic Growth + 20 points for Student Engagement + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 15 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 9.14 out of 15.0060.93% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 35 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 15.73 out of 35.0044.94% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Student EngagementThis component is worth up to 20 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 8.75 out of 20.0043.75% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 18.00 out of 30.0060.00% of component points earnedApproaching State Expectations
0%100% of component points

Peak Virtual Academy

Select to view school details
Performance2025–26 rating · 75.8 points out of 100
2021–222022–232023–242024–252025–26Overall framework score0%50%100%68%70%76%InsufficientdataInsufficientdataDot color shows the state rating for that year.

2025–26 SPF Components

High school SPF: 30 points for Academic Achievement + 40 points for Academic Growth + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 23.0 out of 3076.6% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 26.5 out of 4066.2% of component points earnedMeets State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 26.3 out of 3087.5% of component points earnedExceeds State Expectations
0%100% of component points

State rating not available

Outer Range

Select to view school details
Insufficient State Data: Small Tested Population2025–26 rating · Not enough data for a score
CDE has not published enough scored indicators for a five-year trend.

2025–26 SPF Components

High school SPF: 30 points for Academic Achievement + 40 points for Academic Growth + 30 points for PWR = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: 7.5 out of 3025.0% of component points earnedDoes Not Meet State Expectations
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: Not reported by CDENo component percentage is available.
0%100% of component points
Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR)This component is worth up to 30 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: Not reported by CDENo component percentage is available.
0%100% of component points

Montrose Classical Academy

Select to view school details
New School2025–26 rating · Not enough data for a score
CDE has not published enough scored indicators for a five-year trend.

2025–26 SPF Components

Elementary and middle school SPF: 40 points for Academic Achievement + 60 points for Academic Growth = 100 total points.

Academic AchievementThis component is worth up to 40 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: Not reported by CDENo component percentage is available.
0%100% of component points
Academic GrowthThis component is worth up to 60 points of the 100-point SPF.
Points Earned: Not reported by CDENo component percentage is available.
0%100% of component points

About These Results

These results come from the Colorado Department of Education (CDE). They offer a useful academic snapshot, but they are only one part of a district or school’s story.

Important context and limitations
  • The latest results are preliminary. CDE may revise the 2025–26 results. Earlier school-year results are final.
  • The five-year graph does not follow one cohort. A cohort is the same group of students followed over time. Each year’s result reflects the students enrolled and tested that year, so changes may partly reflect a different group of students.
  • Growth is not a simple year-to-year score change. Colorado compares each student’s progress with students statewide who had similar scores in the past.
  • Missing data do not mean zero performance. CDE may leave results blank or protect them when too few students are included to report a reliable result.
  • Small groups can produce larger swings. Changes in enrollment, participation, tested grades and student population can affect a year-to-year result.
  • Frameworks are not all the same. The district, elementary and middle schools, high schools and Alternative Education Campuses use different framework structures or point weights. Their scores should not be compared without that context.
  • Some components may be unavailable. When CDE cannot report a component, the overall framework may be calculated from the eligible data and may not match a simple sum of the components shown here.
  • The performance framework does not measure everything families value. It does not fully capture school culture, relationships, programs, student support or an individual child’s experience.

CDE current framework files · CDE historical files · CDE preliminary release notice